Formula SAE

Formula SAE is a student design competition organized by SAE International (formerly Society of Automotive Engineers) originating in 1979 with the Mini Indy at the University of Houston, evolving into a full design and road-racing event with increased engineering content, eventually adopting the name of Formula SAE, and expanding to encompass 511 registered teams worldwide.

The concept behind Formula SAE is that a fictional manufacturing company has contracted a design team to develop a small Formula-style race car. The prototype race car is to be evaluated for its potential as a production item. The target marketing group for the race car is the non-professional weekend autocross racer. Each student team designs, builds and tests a prototype based on a series of rules whose purpose is both to ensure onsite event operations and promote clever problem solving.

A year of hard work and perseverance culminates for teams in a series of international competitions based in various regions each year, giving each team the opportunity to compare their work to that of their peers, and to see a physical display of their efforts.

Competition Events

Competition events provide the framework for judgement of each car, and are separated into two categories – static and dynamic. Static events comprise of Design, Cost Analysis and Business Presentations, with Dynamic events made up of Endurance, Autocross, Efficiency, Acceleration and Skid Pad rounds.

Dynamic Events

300 points

150 points

100 points

75 points

Skid Pad
50 points

Static Events

150 points

Cost Analysis
100 points

75 points